Recommend:
To the knowledge base

Saving and restoring the FRITZ!Box settings

You can save the settings of your FRITZ!Box in a backup file and use it to restore all or only certain settings, if necessary.

If you restore the backup file in a different FRITZ!Box, only the basic settings like internet access, telephone numbers, and Wi-Fi settings are applied. The FRITZ!Box receives a new MyFRITZ! address and advanced settings (for example online telephone books, VPN connections) must be reconfigured.

When switching to a new FRITZ!Box, we recommend using the wizard for easy FRITZ!Box switching that lets you transfer all of your settings to a new FRITZ!Box. With the wizard, all additional FRITZ! products can be used with the new FRITZ!Box without having to register or configure them.

Note:You can also have the push service save your settings automatically. The "Save Settings" push service automatically sends an email with the backup file before every update and each time the factory settings are loaded.

Requirements / Restrictions

  • When restoring the backup file in a different FRITZ!Box, the FRITZ!OS version of the other FRITZ!Box must be at least as high as the FRITZ!OS version of the old FRITZ!Box.

Note:All instructions on configuration and settings given in this guide refer to the latest FRITZ!OS for the FRITZ!Box.

1 Saving settings of the FRITZ!Box

Saving settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Save" tab.
  4. Enter a password.

    Tip:Be sure to keep the password in a safe place. The backup file can be used only after the password is entered.

  5. Click "Save" and confirm that the procedure may be executed on the FRITZ!Box, if you are asked to do so.
  6. Save the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" on your computer.

Backing up telephony data

You can save the FRITZ!Box's telephony data, for example contact pictures, ringtones, and messages from the answering machine, in its own file.

Note:Telephony data located on a connected USB storage device connected to the FRITZ!Box are automatically available again as soon as the USB storage device is connected to the FRITZ!Box again.

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Save" tab.
  4. Enable the "Save telephony data" option.
  5. Click the "Save" button and save the file "FRITZ.Box[...].zip" on your computer.

Saving data from the internal memory

If you saved data on the FRITZ!Box's internal memory (for example FRITZ!NAS), manually save this data:

  1. Click "Home Network" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "USB / Storage" in the "Home Network" menu.
  3. If the storage (NAS) function is enabled, click the internal storage to display the contents of FRITZ!NAS.
  4. Select the files and folders you want to back up.
  5. Click "Download" and save the file "download.zip" on your computer.

2 Restoring the FRITZ!Box settings

Restoring settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Restore" tab.
  4. Click the "Browse..." or "Choose File" button.
  5. Select the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" with the settings you want to restore.
  6. Enter the password you entered when saving the file.
  7. If you want to restore the settings in the same FRITZ!Box, enable the setting "Restore all of the settings".
    • If you want to restore the settings to a different FRITZ!Box or only want to restore certain settings, enable the option "Select manually the settings to be restored".
  8. Click the "Restore" button.
  9. On the FRITZ!Box,confirm that the procedure may be executed, if you are asked to do so.
  10. If it is the same FRITZ!Box, all of the settings will now be applied.
    • If it is a different FRITZ!Box or you enabled the option "Select manually...", enable the settings you would like to import and click "Apply".

Restoring telephony data

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Restore" tab.
  4. Enable the "Telephony data" option.
  5. Click the "Browse..." or "Choose File" button.
  6. Select the file "FRITZ.Box[...].zip" with the telephony data you want to restore.
  7. Click the "Restore" button.

Restoring data from the internal memory

  1. Click "Home Network" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "USB / Storage" in the "Home Network" menu.
  3. Enable the storage (NAS) function of the FRITZ!Box and click the internal storage to display the contents of FRITZ!NAS.
  4. Unzip the file "download.zip" to your computer, for example to the Desktop.
  5. Click "Add" and select the files and folders you saved.

3 Registering DECT devices

If DECT devices did not automatically connect to the FRITZ!Box after importing the settings, use the expanded login mode to quickly and easily register them with the FRITZ!Box. Expanded login mode is enabled for one hour after it has been activated. This way you can take your time to re-register your FRITZ!DECT devices with the FRITZ!Box one after the other:

Enabling expanded login mode

  1. Click "Telephony" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "DECT" in the "Telephony" menu.
  3. Click the "Start Expanded Login Mode" button.

Registering devices

  1. Register your FRITZ!DECT devices with the FRITZ!Box:
    FRITZ!DECT deviceRegistration
    FRITZ!Fon Press the Menu key and select "Settings > Registration > Register > OK".
    FRITZ!DECT 500 Load the factory settings of FRITZ!DECT 500.
    FRITZ!DECT 440 Press the Menu button.
    FRITZ!DECT 400 Push the connection button on the top side until you hear a signal tone.
    FRITZ!DECT 302, 301 Press the menu button and select "Anmeldung > OK".
    FRITZ!DECT 300 Press the menu button and select "FUNK > OK".
    FRITZ!DECT 210, 200 Hold the DECT button down until the button flashes.
    FRITZ!DECT Repeater 100 Hold the DECT button down until the button flashes.
  2. After you have registered all of the DECT devices, you can also end the extended login mode early by clicking the button "Stop Expanded Login" under "Telephony > DECT".