FRITZ!Fon C4 Service - Knowledge Base

FRITZ!Fon C4 Service

Saving and restoring FRITZ!Box settings

The FRITZ!Box settings can be saved to a backup file. You can then use this file to restore all of the settings to any FRITZ!Box that is the same model and same edition at a later point in time, as long as the same or a later FRITZ!OS version is installed.

1 Saving settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Save Settings" or "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Save" tab.
  4. Enter a password.
  5. Click the "Save" button and save the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" on your computer.

2 Restoring settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Save Settings" or "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Restore" tab.
  4. Enable the option "From this FRITZ!Box or another FRITZ!Box of the same model", if present.
  5. Enter the password you entered when saving the file.
  6. Click "Browse" or "Choose File" and select the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" with the settings you would like to restore.
  7. Click the "Restore" button.
    • The settings are now restored. Afterwards, you may then have to re-register all DECT devices (for example telephones, repeaters).
    • Note:All of the settings for your cordless telephones remain intact if you use their menus to register them and not the Wizard for telephony devices.