FRITZ!Box 7490 Service - Knowledge Base

FRITZ!Box 7490 Service

FRITZ!Box reports "Username already used"

It is not possible to delete entries for IP telephones, for example FRITZ!App Fon, from the list of telephony devices. When you attempt to do so, the following error message is displayed:

"An error occurred. Error description: Username already used. Please enter your data again. If the error occurs again, please consult AVM Support."

Cause

  • The FRITZ!Box's telephony settings are inconsistent.

Note:The configuration procedure and notes on functions given in this guide refer to the latest FRITZ!OS for your FRITZ!Box.

1 Saving settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Save" tab.
  4. Enter a password.
  5. Click "Save" and confirm that the procedure may be executed on the FRITZ!Box, if you are asked to do so.
  6. Save the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" on your computer.

2 Loading the factory settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Factory Settings" tab.
  4. Click the "Load Factory Settings" button.

3 Restoring settings

Now you can restore all of the settings except for the telephony settings. Afterwards, you must manually reconfigure the telephony functions:

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Restore" tab.
  4. Click "Browse" and select the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" with the settings you would like to restore.
  5. Enter the password you entered when saving the file.
  6. Enable the option "Manually select the settings to be restored".
  7. Click the "Restore" button and confirm that the procedure may be executed on the FRITZ!Box, if you are asked to do so.
  8. Enable the option "Select all settings".
  9. Disable the option "Overwrite all telephony and Smart Home settings".
  10. Click "Apply".