FRITZ!Box 6591 Cable Service - Knowledge Base

FRITZ!Box 6591 Cable Service

Saving the settings and restoring them to the same FRITZ!Box

You can save the settings of your FRITZ!Box in a backup file and use it to restore all or only certain settings (for example Wi-Fi settings, FRITZ!Box users) if necessary. In addition to the manual backup described here, you can also have the push service save your settings automatically. The "Save Settings" push service automatically sends an email with the backup file before every update and each time the factory settings are loaded.

This guide shows you how to restore your settings to the same FRITZ!Box. You can also transfer your settings to another FRITZ!Box.

Note:This guide is valid for FRITZ!OS 7.20 or later. If you are using an earlier FRITZ!OS version, the configuration may differ or functions may not be available. You can find the FRITZ!OS version on the "Overview" page of the FRITZ!Box user interface.

1 Saving data from the internal memory

  1. Click "Home Network" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "USB / Storage" in the "Home Network" menu.
  3. If the storage (NAS) function is enabled, click the storage to display the contents of FRITZ!NAS.
  4. Select the files and folders you want to back up and click "Download".

2 Saving settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Save" tab.
  4. Enter a password.
  5. Click "Save" and on the FRITZ!Box, confirm that the procedure may be executed if asked to do so.
  6. Save the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" on your computer.

3 Restoring settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Restore" tab.
  4. Click "Browse..." or "Choose File" and select the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" with the settings you want to restore.
  5. Enter the password you assigned when saving the file.
  6. If you only want to restore certain settings, enable the option "Select manually the settings to be restored".
  7. Click the "Restore" button and on the FRITZ!Box, confirm that the procedure may be executed if asked to do so.
  8. If you want, enable the settings you would like to restore.
  9. Click "Apply".

4 Registering DECT devices

If DECT devices did not automatically connect to the FRITZ!Box after you imported the settings, register them with the FRITZ!Box again. To keep all of the settings, use the FRITZ!Box's button to register them and not the wizard in the FRITZ!Box user interface: