FRITZ!Box 6590 Cable Service - Knowledge Base

FRITZ!Box 6590 Cable Service

Extra confirmation to configure certain functions

The first time you change the settings for or execute sensitive functions, you will be asked once for additional confirmation. The confirmation is then valid for one hour, so you do not have to reconfirm permission to make further changes during this time. You are required to reconfirm if you log in to the user interface again or execute a sensitive function in a new browser window.

In the home network, you can either push a button on the FRITZ!Box or use a telephone connected to the FRITZ!Box to confirm that you want to configure these functions. When accessing it from the internet, you can enter a verification code from the Google Authenticator app if you enable confirmation with the Google Authenticator App under "System > FRITZ!Box Users > Login to the Home Network" and you configured the app for this user.

Note:The configuration procedure and notes on functions given in this guide refer to the latest FRITZ!OS for your FRITZ!Box.

1 Confirming that a procedure may be executed in home network

Confirming execution by button

  1. Briefly push any button on your FRITZ!Box when the user interface asks you to do so. The LEDs on the FRITZ!Box flash once to confirm.
  2. Then, click "OK" in the "Procedure confirmed" window in the user interface to conclude the procedure.

Confirming execution with a telephone

You cannot use an IP telephone, for example FRITZ!App Fon, to send key commands to the FRITZ!Box. You therefore cannot use IP telephones to load the factory settings:

  1. Enter the code displayed in the message in the user interface on your telephone and press the call key (lift the receiver).
  2. Hang up again after about 3 seconds.
  3. Then, click "OK" in the "Procedure confirmed" window in the user interface to conclude the procedure.

2 Confirming execution when accessing from the internet

  1. As soon as the user interface asks you to, enter the verification code from the Google Authenticator App in the FRITZ!Box's message window. The code for the user is displayed in the app.
  2. Then, click "OK" in the "Procedure confirmed" window in the user interface to conclude the procedure.